Skip to main content

This calendar applies to most undergraduate classes. Other schools at Penn may have their own schedules. If you have questions about your teaching semester, check with your school's registrar.

This list also includes the dates where Penn's policy on religious holidays prohibits exams and assigned work. The University Chaplain’s Office  secular and religious holidays provides a fuller list. Be open to students requesting flexibility around these days.

Finally, contact your departmental administrator should you need rooms for mid-term or final exams.

Fall 2024

Week 1: August 26 - 30  

  • No Monday classes this week. 
  • Tuesday, August 27 – classes begin. 

Week 2: September 2 - 6 

  •  Monday, September 2 – no class for Labor Day. 

Week 3: September 9 - 13 

  • Tuesday, September 10 – course selection period ends. (Students can add and drop classes freely until then.) 

Week 4: September 16 - 20 

Week 5: September 23 - 27 

  • You may want to give students some graded work due by this week, so you have time to return the grades and students have time to talk with their advisers about the drop deadline (October 7). 

Week 6: September 30 - October 4 

  • Wednesday, October 2 (after sundown) – Rosh Hashanah; no graded work due and expect students to miss class for the holiday (Wednesday, October 2, sunset, to Friday, October 4). 
  • Thursday, October 3 and Friday, October 4 – no classes for Fall Break. 

Week 7: October 7 - 11  

  • Monday, October 7 – the last day students can drop a class without penalty.  
  • Friday, October 11 (after sundown) – Yom Kippur: no graded work due and expect students to miss class for the holiday. 

Week 8: October 14 - 18 

Week 9: October 21 - 25 

  • Friday, October 25 – the last day students can request to take a class pass/fail. 

Week 10: October 28 - Nov 1 

  • Monday, October 28 – Advanced Registration for Spring 2025 begins (if you are teaching a spring course, post information, a draft syllabus, or a prospectus to Courses@Penn by October 28). 

Week 11: November 4 - 8 

  • Monday, November 4 – the last day a student can withdraw from a course (they get a W on their transcript but no grade). 
  • Tuesday, November 5 – Election Day: no graded work due and expect students to be absent. 

Week 12: November 11 - 15 

Week 13: November 18 - 22 

Week 14: November 25 - 29 

  • Tuesday, November 26 – Thursday classes meet. 
  • Wednesday, November 27 – Friday classes meet. 
  • Thursday, November 28 and Friday, November 29 – no classes for Thanksgiving Break. 

Week 15: December 2 - 6 

  • Last full week of classes (no exams this week). 

Week 16: December 9 - 13 

  • Monday, December 9 – the last day of classes (no exams this day). 

READING DAYS: December 10 - 11. (No classes or required class activities may be held during the reading period. 

FINAL EXAMS: December 12 - 19. 

GRADES DUE: January 2, 5:00 pm. 

Learn more about when grades are due from Student Registration & Financial Services.

Spring 2025

Week 1: January 13 - 17 

  • Wednesday, January 15  Monday classes meet (first day of class). The rest of the week meets as expected (Thursday classes on Thursday, January 16 and Friday classes on Friday, January 17.) 

Week 2: January 20 - 24 

  •  Monday, January 20  no class for MLK Day. 

Week 3: January 27 - 31 

  • Tuesday, January 28  course selection period ends. (Students can add and drop classes freely until then.) 

Week 4: February 3 - 7 

Week 5: February 10 - 14 

  • You may want to give students some graded work due by this week, so you have time to return the grades and students have time to talk with their advisers about the drop deadline (February 24). 

Week 6: February 17 - 21 

Week 7: February 24 - 28 

  • Monday, February 24 – the last day students can drop a class without penalty.  

Week 8: March 3 - 7 

Week 9: March 10 - 14 Spring Break 

  • No classes this week 

Week 10: March 17 - 21 

  • Friday, March 21 – the last day students can request to take a class pass/fail. 

Week 11: March 24 - 28 

  • Monday, March 24 – Advanced Registration for summer and fall 2025 begins (if you are teaching a summer or fall course, post information, a draft syllabus, or a prospectus to Courses@Penn by March 24).  

Week 12: March 31 - April 4 

  • Monday, March 31 – the last day a student can withdraw from a course (they get a W on their transcript but no grade). 

Week 13: April 7 - 11  

Week 14: April 14 - 18 

  • Monday, April 14 (until sundown) – Passover; no assigned work due (the first two nights of Passover are April 12, sundown through April 14, sundown). 
  • Friday, April 18 – Good Friday; no assigned work due and expect students to miss class for the holiday. 

Week 15: April 21 - 25 

  • Last full week of classes (no exams this week). 

Week 16: April 28 - May 2  

  • Wednesday, April 30 – the last day of classes (no exams this week). 

READING DAYS: May 1 - 2. (No classes or required class activities may be held during the reading period.)  

FINAL EXAMS: May 5 - 13. 

GRADES DUE: Friday, May 16, noon.

Learn more about when grades are due from Student Registration & Financial Services.